Datura Noir by Serge Lutens

Definitely, it was not love at first sniff. I even thought of selling it away. But now, I’m loving it, and I’m definitely keeping it.

Here is Serge Lutens Datura Noir.

In December, I bought Datura Noir without trying it out. I have not smelled it, nor read any reviews about it. I did not know the notes, nor the background of the perfume. I just bought it because the name is very intriguing.

When I opened the bottle, I was taken aback. Disappointed, actually. In my head, I thought I should have bought the Santal Blanc instead. I certainly regretted buying it that I considered selling it on eBay or giving it to my mom.

Datura Noir by Serge Lutens is a floral, but a very unusual one. Blogs say it is an oriental-floral.

It opens up rather intoxicating, like when you open a bottle of a fine rum, or vodka.

After the intoxicating opening, it transitions to some heady floral reminiscent of ylang-ylang. At some point, I thought I smell some bits of champaca, too.

And it mellows down further to something like a bowl of dried exotic florals and finally, some vanilla.

Datura Noir is not your girly floral. It is not your dainty rose, or clean, sweet jasmine.

It is definitely sexy, and alluring but there is something very sinister about it, too. Think of very sexy, well elegant lady, who can be very kick-ass when provoked. Think of the villainess Uma Thurman as Poison Ivy.

As I’ve said, I’m now in love with Datura Noir. I wear it whenever I want to break away from the mold, or when I feel sexy, or when I feel devilish. And that’s almost every Friday! 😀

As an eau de parfum, it is very long-lasting, and can be very intense.  As such, I wear it very discreetly.  Like its name, I think it is perfect for date nights.  

Datura Noir is by Chris Sheldrake for Serge Lutens and notes include coconut, datura, almond, tuberose, tonka bean, myrrh, mandarin, musk, and osmanthus.

One thought on “Datura Noir by Serge Lutens

  1. Well put! I love this perfume I find it exotic and like it best in the summer and yes I love its kick-ass attitude, I think of Uma Thurman in Kill Bill, Tura Satana in Faster Pussycat Kill Kill Kill!

Leave a Reply

